1. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    #1

    Wire frame rendering in vray

    Hi,
    can Anyone help me with a wireframe rendering in Vray
    with lights and shadows
  2. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    413
    #2

    Hi !

    This is easy...
    Create a vray material, after this push the little box next to the diffuse slot.
    Find the "VrayEdgesTex" named material type.
    And thats it !
    At the editor u can control the wire's color, thickness and so on...
    Good luck. ,)
  3. Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    332
    #3

    Life saver !!!

    Cheers fella, I was going nuts trying to remember how to do it - lol
  4. Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2
    #4

    thank you

    4 years later, thanks for this tip. couldnt have been easier.
  5. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40
    #5

    thank you Techtron thanx again n again
  6. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40
    #6

    but if we want transparency then how?
  7. Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    88
    #7

    after 5 years thank you
  8. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    #8

    thank you very much
  9. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40
    #9

    thanks very useful
    but if you want only wireframe then use "VrayEdgesTex" in opacity map slot
  10. Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    #10

    Quote:
    Originally posted by: QAS
    but if we want transparency then how?
    Answering the one year old question inside the six year old thread >>>>

    Just COPY the VrayEdgesTex Material from the diffuse slot into the opacity slot! That's it.


    have been looking for this solution since years too and found it just today on some other site. Thanks to the guys which finally came up with this simple solution. The result just looks like regular max scanline wireframe.
  11. Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    #11

    If you like the look of wireframes that have backface culling than you can always leave the transparency at 100% and "Plus" your rendered image over your background in your compositing package (i.e. A+B) - whatever is white (wireframe) will show and whatever is black (everything else) will not.

    For this to work you have to change the diffuse slider value to pure black after you've applied the VRayEdgesTex material - it is grey by default.
  12. Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1
    #12

    For this to work you have to change the diffuse slider value to pure black after you've applied the VRayEdgesTex material - it is grey by default.


    waleeed
  13. Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1
    #13

    10 years... Still thanks!
  14. Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    #14

    Hi,

    i can't seem to find the "VrayEdgesTex". Are you working from Rhino with the Vray Plug-In? Any hint, please??? - Would save another life, many years later. thanks, everyone!
You need to be logged in to leave a comment. You don't have account? Register now.
Best of Evermotion
The best works from the Forum Gallery picked by Evermotion staff